Islam, Salaat and Ablution

Salaat is the basic pillar of Muslim faith. It is absolutely necessary for every Muslim who has embraced Islam and made a declaration of the primary article of faith "The Kalima". The Kalima is acceptance without any reservation of the belief that "There is no god but Allah and Muhammad (may Allah bless him and grant him peace) is his messenger". By accepting and believing in this basic principal any one can embrace Islam. Salaat is the basic pillar and therefore obligatory on all Muslims after attaining the age of 10. It is only the children before the age of ten years, the very sick, the seriously indisposed, those on a long journey who are given concession. Salaat can not be performed unless the Muslims are completely clean and have performed Ablution.

What is Islam?

Islam is the name of faith that was brought into the world by the Holy Prophet Muhammad (may Allah bless him and grant him peace) .

How can one become Muslim?

Two things are necessary for anyone to be a true Muslim:

1.    To acquire a proper knowledge of the teachings of Islam.


2.    To believe in these teachings as true and live according to them.

Article of Faith
(The Holy Kalima)


There is no god (No one is worthy of worship and obedience) except Allah and Muhammad is his messenger.

Kalima contains the solemn affirmation of Divine Unity, the assertion, the pledge and the declaration that we shall worship Him alone and offer our homage and obedience to no one apart from Him, and shall make Him the sole pivot of our existence.

The Confession

The Holy Kalima (article of faith) is a confession. This confession is the gateway to Islam. By affirming it and reciting it with sincerity and conviction even a life-long polytheist can become a Muslim. The confession consists of two parts:

This is the first and foremost item in the teaching of all the Prophets i.e., from Adam to the Holy Prophet Muhammad (may Allah bless him and grant him peace).


There is no god but Allah

The first portion contains the affirmation of the Oneness of Allah. Allah alone and no one besides Him is worthy of worship and obedience. Our conduct should also be in conformity with it, so carry out His commands dutifully live and die for His sake alone.


Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah

The second portion confirms that Muhammad (may Allah bless him and grant him peace) is the Messenger of Allah. Whatever he taught, preached or revealed like the Divinity of the origin of the Qur’an, the existence of the angels, the certainty of the Resurrection, Judgement, the award of heaven and hell according to one’s deeds on the earth was true and authentic.

It is narrated by AnasR.A that the Holy Prophet (may Allah bless him and grant him peace) said to Ma’adRA, "Allah has declared as forbidden the fire of the Hell for him who affirms the Kalima with a true heart".

The Pillars of Faith

To believe in:

  1. Allah (in His Existence, His Oneness in His Attributes, His deserving to be worshipped and supplicated and His right to legislate).
  2. His Angels (beings, created from light for obeying Allah’s Orders.)
  3. His Books (the Torah, the Gospel of Jesus, the Psalms of David and the Qur’an, which is the best of them).
  4. His Messengers (the first of them was Noah and the last of them was Muhammad (may Allah bless him and grant him peace) being the Seal of the Prophets).
  5. The Last Day (the day of Resurrection) for the reckoning of the people according to their deeds, and their appropriate compensation (award or punishment).
  6. And to believe in Qadar (Divine Preordainment) that all which occurs of good and evil is by Divine decree, accompanied by the employment of means to achieve desired results with satisfaction of what happens of good or bad, the sweet and the bitter, because it occurs by Allah’s Decree.